What can be done about wheel hop?Got my first case of it tonight at the track-01 GTS

alwayscode390

Enthusiast
Reaction score
I went to the track tonight and got my first wheel hop in my 2001 GTS.

It felt violent , but I got lucky and nothing broke.

What modifications can be done to prevent this?

I'm pretty new to IRS rearends. Ive fixed this in a solid axle before but things are a lot different.

Is there a such thing as "c-beam plates" for our cars? I use them on my c4 corvette, and it helps limit the car breaking out to the right as easily when traction is lost.

Thanks! ---

Fatboy 18

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Re: What can be done about wheel hop?Got my first case of it tonight at the track-01

Wheel hop is not good, my first outing at the track resulted in snapping a UJ which then damaged the Diff output coupling and a hafshaft so had to replace that too!

I now have Unitrax Half shafts.

If you plan on tracking the car it would be wise to go through the whole drive line, I now have fitted, Woodhouse Engine and transmission mounts, Ipsco Billet transmission crossmember mount, new spicer UJs and straps throughout the whole drive line. All of this will help, but getting the engine revs and clutch bite right also plays a big part. As you know Drag surfaces are very sticky, so you don't have to give a Viper a lot of gas to get it moving.

Wheel Hopping breaks things fast, so be careful. ;)

OP
OP
A

alwayscode390

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Re: What can be done about wheel hop?Got my first case of it tonight at the track-01

Thanks Fatboy.

I was told on another forum about the Woodhouse Engine/Tranny mounts too.

Then I was told maybe new tires and shocks too?

I appreciate the heads up on the other beefy parts you recommended :) ---

AZTVR

Enthusiast
Reaction score