Zeroshift: synchroless T-56, "Fastest shifting transmission"

jrkermode

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Re: Zeroshift: synchroless T-56,

I'm no gearbox designer, but here is my guess of how this deal works.

The roller clutches allow you to have all the gear teeth meshed all the time. The roller clutches internal to the gears are what you use to select gears, probably via some sort of ramp.

These roller clutches can also free-wheel, like a backwards limited slip. If 2 gear sets are engaged at the same time, the faster spinning gear gets all the torque (think centrifugal clutch).

I'm guessing they use the input shaft roller clutches on the way up the gears and the idler shaft roller clutches on the way down the box.

So, the shifting process changes.

Regular tranny:
Select gear pair 1 (synchronizer rings doing the work to match the speeds of the gears)
Deselect gear pair 1 (shift into neutral)
Select gear pair 2 (synchronizer rings again doing the speed matching)

Zeroshift:
Select gear pair 1 (use the ramp to engage the rollers)
Select gear pair 2 (this engages the ramp, but the faster spinning gear, gear pair 1, continue to receive all the torque)
Deselect gear pair 1 (leaving gear pair 2 already selected)

This would imply that the "flatliner" they speak of is whatever scheme they use to unload gear set 1, likely by removing the ramp.

I imagine they release the first gear pair softly to prevent a sudden jump in torque.

I'd also guess that the releasing is where all the magic lies.

Joel

Enthusiast
Reaction score

Makes sense, but how to release them softly ? and how does it downshift smoothly, I imagine there is no facility to automatically match rpm to gears, so is it neccessary to use the clutch when downshifting and "blip"

ZeroShift

Enthusiast
Reaction score