Another Corsa Install

KenH

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Thought I would add my comments to the Search Database.

What I was looking for – Better sound, but not too loud since I actually drive my Viper and I don’t want to get in a fight with my neighbors when I leave at 7AM. I also wanted better looking exhaust tips since the stock ones look downright cheap to me. I may add Headers and HF Cats in the future and I know that they will also add to the sound volume, so I wanted to err on the quiet side if anything.

Source – JonB/PartsRack. Got a good price and they came before I was even expecting them, which is always a nice surprise.

Quality – top notch. The rear muffler and exhaust tips are a work of art. Fit and finish are excellent. Came packaged very well.

Installation – Easy. I did it on jackstands by myself and I’m no mechanic. Could have used a second set of hands when it came to installing the rear muffler section however. Ran the front up on some 7” Rhino ramps and raised the back about 12”. This was enough to get the job done for me. The hardest parts of the install were not Corsa related. For instance, my side sills came from the factory with stripped threads on several of the top screws, including of course the one under the door jam. Took me a while to figure out how to get them out. Eventually I ground down a small screwdriver to a sharp point that I could slide between the sill and top plate and wedge under the screw head while I backed them out. Hole plug removal was easy using a tappet feeler gauge to run around the perimeter and depress the locking fingers as someone had mentioned on here before. The pipes fit the stock hangers fine and do not hit or rub anywhere on the frame. Getting the rubber mounts off the old stock exhaust was a bit of a pain, but not too bad once I decided to not finesse it and just used brute force. The exhaust tips barely fit through the rear opening and in my case, they press down a little on the small web at the bottom of