Blown motor and Paxton

steponz

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Has anybody with a paxton blown there motor and messed up the supercharger?

Is it possible that broken parts could be shot into the supercharger?

If so, is there a way to protect the supercharger from this?

Joe

plumcrazy

Enthusiast
Reaction score
the S/C is before the motor so im pretty sure parts wont go in the s/c and hurt it. but i guess thru the oil line it could potentially do damage. and a filter on the oil line would likely be a restriction. (not good either)

but im not an expert

big-n-italian

Enthusiast
Reaction score

Joe

i suppose it would depend on what is broke and where. can you go into more detail? sounds like you broke the motor? if that is the case, then your SC might be ok. more details pleae.

AFL in NJ

Enthusiast
Reaction score
If they use the same oil reservoir and the failure was gradual (metal shards and shavings fall into the pan, get sucked up and pumped into the supercharger). I know some of the blowers like the whipple and magnuson blowers have their own oil reservoir, so they wouldn't be affected.

Regards,
Aaron

99 R/T 10

Enthusiast
Reaction score
If the Roe ever comes out for the Gen III, that will be the way to go, but I would not own a S/C Gen III without upgrading the rods/pistons!

dave6666

Enthusiast
Reaction score

Joe

It sounds like you are planning to blow up the engine and just want to know what to expect to replace?!? :dunno:

Reaction score
There is an inline oil filter on the pressure side fitting of the Paxton blower that needs to be checked every other oil change. I doubt there would be damage to the blower system unless there was no oil going to it at high rpm.

OP
OP
S

steponz

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Actually I bought a used blower and in the oil pan that came with it there were pieces in the pan... Not sure if they were there after it was taken off... Just wanted to see what other people have experienced...