Cut muffler or resonator or both?????

BlackACR

Enthusiast
Reaction score
I am new to the Viper, I have had a couple of vettes, so I am familar with GM. I have added smooth tubes, K&N's and cutout the rain baffle. I would like to know the deal with the exhaust, should i cut the resonantor and muffler, or just cut the muffler out. I have heard both losses and gain from either or. Please let me know what has worked for u guys, Thanks Tony

Bill 96 GTS

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Remove the muffler at the rear and replace it with straight tubing. Pick up a little power....lose a little weight....gain a lot of nice sound. Do it yourself for $10.00 or pay Midas to do it for $100.00. Best improvement for the money you'll ever find.

ACR Joe

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Want a significant power gain, much better sound, less heat in the side sills? Do it right - headers to tail pipe tips. Lose the cats if possible. Avoid systems that precipitate a CE light.

OP
OP
B

BlackACR

Enthusiast
Reaction score
I have seen some cars loose power on the dyno cutting every thing but the cats and putting straight pipe. MY car dynoed 415HP
466 on torque in 100 degree temp and 84%hum. All i have are smooth tubes an K&N's. Is there anyone else thats has dynoed there car after either cutting the muffler or, cutting it all out

Serious Eric

Enthusiast
Reaction score
<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by blackgts99:
I have seen some cars loose power on the dyno cutting every thing but the cats and putting straight pipe.
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Yeah, exhaust mods definitely can hurt (or help) depending on what's done. I have headers, half-cats, resonator, no muffler and 3" pipe back to the tips. I made 426 Hp, 473 ft.lb on a 90+ day, high humidity. A previous pull (better weather) got 449 Hp.