Dot 4 or Dot 5.1

Joel

Enthusiast
Reaction score
In a couple of weeks I'm going to flush thru my brake system. I dont want to use silicone fluid due to the difficulty of bleeding, and I don't want to use racing fluid due to its affinity for absorbing moisture(supposed to be worse than dot4).I have thought about using Dot 5.1. Has anyone used it? I sell it to some track day racers in my shop and I've never had any complaints but I don't have any specs for it. Any opinions and is it sold in the states? I believe silicone fluid is designated DOT 5

Nadine UK GTS

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Don't use silicon!

I use Castrol SRF, expensive but high wet and dry boiling point, doesn't absorb as much moisture as some others in our damp climate.

When bleeding, best to pressure bleed. I got a second master cylinder fluid cap and drilled into the top of it to fix pressure bleeder, (this arrangement did leak however under pressure). There is a Chrysler "special tool" for pressure bleeding, but, in the UK they were unable to obtain it for me. How do you guys pressure bleed out there, ie, how to you fix / seal onto the master cylinder reservoir?

JonB

Legacy\Supporting Vendor
Supporting Vendor
Reaction score
Joel.........there was an excellent and lengthy discussion here recently: Search "Motul"

You have nothing to fear from Dot-4 racing varieties....nor from DOT 5.1. Nor from Dot-4 non racing varieties for that matter. The 5.1 is more "stable" at age than racing DOT-4s, but no worries either way. If you plan to ever have hot brakes/track events and/or drive like Nadine (!) go with racing hi-temp fluid.

Do NOT USE SILICONE

Tom and Vipers

Enthusiast
Reaction score
The info from Baer refers to

Ford High Performance DOT 3 Brake Fluid

and NOT Ford Super DOT 4 Brake Fluid.

I thought the Super DOT 4 was the "good" Ford fluid?

ruckdr

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Tom,