Gen 2 GTS Rebuild Project

lukegriz

Viper Owner
Reaction score
I just launched into a '98 GTS rebuild project and wanted to take some time to share the experience with any of you that might be interested. Hopefully through this series of posts, which will stretch over a month or two, I'll be able to accomplish the following things:
- Show the rebuild process I went through
- Talk about part sourcing (and cost)
- Get tips when I run into trouble
- Make myself available for anyone wondering about total cost through PM

At the end of the project I'm hoping this forums ends up with another good series of posts (search others, they're here) that might be helpful to the group in one way or another.

BACKGROUND:
I grew up in my father's bodyshop, so while this is my first time with a Viper it's far from the first rebuild. That said, I'm subcontracting the labor to one of his employees that has better skills than I do (know your weaknesses), especially in the area of fiberglass. The end goal of this project is a high quality rebuild for me to keep for years to come.

PROJECT OVERALL:
I picked up this '98 GTS at an insurance auction where I normally source project cars. When I got it home I was relieved to see that this 22k mile car was in fantastic condition. I truly couldn't be any happier with the cleanliness of the car throughout.

DAMAGE DETAILS: