Mobil 1 oil filter vs Mopar Viper spec

Discussion in 'RT/10 and GTS Discussions' started by Invasivore, Sep 3, 2012.

  1. Invasivore

    Invasivore Viper Owner

    Posts:
    371
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Location:
    Ft. Lauderdale, FL
    I used a Mobil 1 filter for my first oil change with this car. I was wondering how it compares to the Mopar Viper spec filter in a technical aspect. Bypass pressure, etc....

    BTW, my car sees 75psi of oil pressure at operating temp with Mobil 1 10w-30, not sure if that is normal
     
  2. dave6666

    dave6666 Enthusiast

    Posts:
    14,975
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Location:
    Explaining Viper things to you
    Plenty of threads on this. I did some research, and quality and construction were not substantiated by request to Mopar. In other words, the data says BS, and when confronted with a request for specs, like a white paper or something, crickets.

    I use the M1-204 as do many others. If Mopar wants to offer the data to support their claim, I will listen. But for now, their bluff has been called and they have not responded. I call BS.
     
  3. Invasivore

    Invasivore Viper Owner

    Posts:
    371
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Location:
    Ft. Lauderdale, FL
    Yeah, i couldnt find any concrete info on what makes Mopar's filter so called "viper spec"
     
  4. Mopar Steve

    Mopar Steve Viper Owner

    Posts:
    2,871
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2000
    Location:
    Newark DE
    Why take a chance? Are you willing to bet your engine that saving a couple bucks is ok? Why not use the genuine parts?
     
  5. Red Snake

    Red Snake Viper Owner

    Posts:
    2,048
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2007
    Location:
    NashVegas
    I believe I read that there is some kind of check valve in the Mopar filter that is not present in the aftermarket ones. And that is supposed to be why you should use the Mopar one. Not positive though, maybe someone who knows for sure can comment.
     
  6. dave6666

    dave6666 Enthusiast

    Posts:
    14,975
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Location:
    Explaining Viper things to you
    Judging by the facts, or lack thereof, on filter construction, the "genuine" part could very well be the chance you take. And saving a few bucks? The M1-204 is actually more expensive than the um... genuine part.
     
  7. CEJ

    CEJ Viper Owner

    Posts:
    1,175
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Last edited: Sep 4, 2012
  8. Allan

    Allan Viper Owner

    Posts:
    2,546
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Location:
    La Junta Colorado 81050
    I was using the Mobil-1 filter for a while, ......now I'm only using the Mopar filter. It costs a little less, and it says Viper right on it.-way cool
     
  9. MoparBoyy

    MoparBoyy Enthusiast

    Posts:
    648
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011
    Location:
    Apopka, FL
    this. why not just run the spec filter for it? is it that hard to swing by the dealer and pick it up?
     
  10. Brian GTS

    Brian GTS Enthusiast

    Posts:
    1,266
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    I use OEM filters but have been tempted to use Mobile 1's....only because when the local stores run their 5qt special, they include the filter "free"!
     
  11. Mopar Steve

    Mopar Steve Viper Owner

    Posts:
    2,871
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2000
    Location:
    Newark DE
    Go ahead, do some of your own research. Cut them both open. Only takes a couple minutes, measure wall thickness of the can, the bypass spring inside, filter media, etc. Post your results here!

    I don't need to do any research. I figure the millions of dollars they pay their engineers is good enough for me. I'll just stick with the originals.

    This filter topic has been beaten many many times on this forums and others that I frequent. There is actually a lot of good info out there. Specifics on the factory spec filter? Don't know.
     
  12. MTGTS

    MTGTS Viper Owner

    Posts:
    2,251
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Location:
    Orlando, Fl
    As long as it's not a fram you're ok
     
  13. MoparBoyy

    MoparBoyy Enthusiast

    Posts:
    648
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011
    Location:
    Apopka, FL
    +1 i have replaced many motors that got no oil pressure and had a Fram on it.
     
  14. Mad Max

    Mad Max Viper Owner

    Posts:
    255
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Location:
    Indy
    I've cut them apart. M1 Napa gold and the oem viper. After that I now use the oem viper filter. I can post pictures if you like. May take a day or so to get it done though. The oem has more filter area and has the special valve that is spoke of above.


    Brent
     
  15. 2002_red_gts

    2002_red_gts Enthusiast

    Posts:
    174
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Location:
    San Diego
    What is this part number for this filter? I have always just grab the mopar filter on the self at orileys
     
  16. CEJ

    CEJ Viper Owner

    Posts:
    1,175
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Yes, please. That would be great to see! Thank you.
     
  17. Mopar Boy

    Mopar Boy Viper Owner

    Posts:
    10,274
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Location:
    Ontario and Ohio
    With Venom one can order from VPA at less that I can but aftermarket stuff for. And it shows up to my door with the other parts I got so it is basically free shipping. :)

    And I know the Mopar filter will work.


    As for difference, has to do with bypass pressure for WOT I was told.
     
  18. klamathpro

    klamathpro Viper Owner

    Posts:
    925
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2005
    Location:
    Detroit
    I was doing the same thing for years, after all, for a while the 090 filter was all there was and was put in GEN1's and early Gen2's from the factory. The 090 shelf filter works just fine. But I started using 15W/50 for the track per Dick Winkles and he said I should start using either the updated Viper Mopar or the Mobile 1 filter for track use, but that for everyday use the 090 filter was just fine.

    I did notice that with 15w/50 and the Mobile 1 filter my oil pressure went up 10 to 20psi.
     
  19. anaconda666

    anaconda666 Viper Owner

    Posts:
    416
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    WOT on a yellow Viper, that made me laugh. Thanks Robert!

    Ron.
     
  20. CEJ

    CEJ Viper Owner

    Posts:
    1,175
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Mine (2001 RT/10, stock) is about 55 psi using Mobil1 0w-40 and either the NAPA Gold filter or the Viper filter.
     
  21. 99 R/T 10

    99 R/T 10 Enthusiast

    Posts:
    10,315
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2001
    Location:
    Enterprise, AL USA

    ^^^^^^^^^^^^^This^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
     
  22. Mopar Boy

    Mopar Boy Viper Owner

    Posts:
    10,274
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Location:
    Ontario and Ohio
    Smart butt! :rolaugh:

    :D
     
  23. Hirkophoto

    Hirkophoto Viper Owner

    Age:
    49
    Posts:
    273
    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    So CAL
    I always ran K&N oil filters on my Gts and still run them on my SRT10 I have been to the K&N factory and they spend lots of money and time researching and testing the filters. It also has a nice bolt head on the end which makes removal very easy. Never have experienced any problems on my Gts and I used to track it quite often. My SRT 06 continues to have them on there. Just because it's got Mopar or it's OEM does not mean its the best that is for sure. IMO
     
  24. EZ 2B Green

    EZ 2B Green Viper Owner

    Posts:
    257
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Location:
    NH
    I'm also in the MOPAR SRT filter camp. As it has already been mentioned, this topic has been covered in prevoius threads.
    The new SRT filter is designed to run in the Viper's operational oil pressure range. If you actually own a Viper, in my case a Gen IV, then you know the oil pressure generated by the V10. At cold startup the oil pressure pegs out around 100 psi and at operational temperature it's in the 70-75 psi range. The aftermarket filters apply to a much wider range of engines and do not have the burst strength or the proper bypass valve pressure calibration for the Viper engine. Will they work in a pinch? Yes, but your risk blowing out the filter on a cold start and/or unfiltered oil being fed to your bearings due to the aftermarket filter going into bypass prematurely. It's not worth the small amount of savings on the filter if you ask me.
     
  25. Dom426h

    Dom426h Viper Owner

    Age:
    37
    Posts:
    2,632
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Location:
    DE
    The following is what the engineers had to say about it in one of our VCA/SRT Chat sessions: (Sept 9th 2009 )

     
  26. Got_Vnum

    Got_Vnum Viper Owner

    Posts:
    327
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Northridge, CA
    I used a Purolater Pure One two oil changes ago, excellent filter. Oil pressure was the same as the Viper spec filter (40-60 PSI on my car). I went back to the Viper spec filter on the last oil change, its only $6 more plus shipping. The case is definatley stronger (couldn't even slightly push in the metal case with both hands). Looking inside the filter, you can see there is a unique bypass valve design. Would love to see one cut open.
     
  27. dave6666

    dave6666 Enthusiast

    Posts:
    14,975
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Location:
    Explaining Viper things to you
    From an engineering perspective...

    Going to a thicker oil and seeing more oil pressure can be an illusion of improvement. Pressure is caused by resistance to flow, but before I go too much further, I'd like to point out that since the oil pump is a positive displacement pump, that the relationship between the flow of oil A to oil B, is somewhat equalized by that fact. Back to pressure and flow, as the pressure is higher, the thicker oil could be actually flowing less due to more resistance of trying to get through the journals. An adequate flow of oil is important, whatever that volume may be.

    On to the positive displacement nature of the oil pump. it will move the same amount of oil with each revolution. Minus internal losses from clearances. Thicker oil could bypass more inside the pump due to the increase pressure at the pump outlet. Therefore, thicker oil could be of a lesser flow volume. Depends on the physics of the oil to the pump etc. I've never tested it so don't ask. Anyway, the thicker oil definitely takes more horsepower to pump. So less power at the flywheel.

    Some of this flow to pressure relationship depends too on the layout of the journals in regards to pressure relief valves and where the sensor is. If the sensor is right at the pump versus at the last journal, two very different meanings of the increased pressure. Also, some engines have one or more relief valves in the oiling system. This can effect what the pressure really means when you go to a thicker oil and see more pressure. If it has relief valves at both ends of the oiling system, you may dump excess pressure (and flow volume) at the first journal, but the pressure down the crank reads good because of a relief valve at the end to keep the flow passages pressured up. All depends on the layout and design.

    On to filters, flow and pressure, if there is an internal relief valve that has a higher pressure setting between filter A and filter B, you are subjecting the filter media to this increased pressure by this change. Most filter media. especially a simple paper or fiber type, will have a point where it will either fail mechanically, or allow more particles through as the pressure against it goes up. So has the tradeoff been quantified and studied? The possibility of unfiltered oil during a warm up period, versus the possibility that the particle entrapment has been overcome?

    I have no problem with SRT saying they have a better filter. But I asked a few questions, raised some concerns, that no one has ever addressed or answered. Go technical on me SRT. I can handle it.
     
  28. Got_Vnum

    Got_Vnum Viper Owner

    Posts:
    327
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Northridge, CA
    Dave brings up an excellent point. Increased pressure is increased restriction to flow, not an increase in volume of flow.

    Dave - Can you share with us what specific concerns you brought up that were not addressed?
     
  29. Dom426h

    Dom426h Viper Owner

    Age:
    37
    Posts:
    2,632
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Location:
    DE
    ..........
     
  30. Mad Max

    Mad Max Viper Owner

    Posts:
    255
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Location:
    Indy
    Ok, here are some pictures of the Viper filter cut apart. The steel housing is 0.022 thick.

    Viper 1.jpg Viper 2.jpg Viper 3.jpg Viper 4.jpg
     

Share This Page