1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Mopar Performance PCM 2008 Viper

Discussion in 'SRT10 and SRT10 Coupe Discussions' started by q8_viper, Dec 12, 2012.

  1. q8_viper

    q8_viper Enthusiast

    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Location:
    Kuwait
    Hello ,

    Please I need help . Today my dealer install the Mopar Performance PCM for my 08 Viper . Everything was OK than I get the check engine light and at 3500 RPM the Second gear the car Trembling !!!!! i cant go over that .Any help please ?

    My Mods Mopar Performance PCM , Belanger headers , high flow and Corsa 2.5 exhaust system and MSD 8.5mm Spark Plug Wires .

    I think the problem is MSD 8.5mm Spark Plug Wires will not work with Mopar Performance PCM 2008 Viper right ?

    Thanks
     
  2. ipetrov

    ipetrov Enthusiast

    Posts:
    177
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Check engine light means a problem code was stored in your computer. Check what that code is (your dealer will probably have a scan tool). It would help diagnosing what the problem is.
     
  3. q8_viper

    q8_viper Enthusiast

    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Location:
    Kuwait
    They fix it on the first time it was misfire than when i got out of there . I get check engine light again at 3500 RPM the Second gear the car Trembling !!!!! I can not go over 50 MPH
     
  4. q8_viper

    q8_viper Enthusiast

    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Location:
    Kuwait
    Maybe the problem is MSD 8.5mm Spark Plug Wires will not work with Mopar Performance PCM 2008 Viper right ?
     
  5. Steve M

    Steve M Enthusiast

    Posts:
    874
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Location:
    Dayton, OH
  6. redtanrt10

    redtanrt10 Enthusiast

    Posts:
    1,571
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2006
    Location:
    Dana Point CA
    Need to find out what the fault code is. Sounds like your viper has gone into "limp" mode. You can use a scan tool or you can do it yourself using your igniton key (look in the owners manual, I think you turn it on-off 3 times and the code will appear on the odometer).

    I don't think it's your wires, maybe a bad install on the ECU. Why don't you swap out the ECU's and see what happens, it's pretty easy to swap back, make sure you disconnect the battery first. You'll see it it takes longer to open and disconect the battery box then it does to swap ECU's.

    Good luck, if you get the codes post them here.
     
  7. George Farris

    George Farris VCA Venom Member Venom Member

    Posts:
    1,313
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2000
    Location:
    Lipan, TX USA
    Sounds as if it is going into limp mode.

    Shouldn't be doing that with Mopar PCM.

    Have dealer re-install ...
     
  8. mjorgensen Woodhouse

    mjorgensen Woodhouse Enthusiast

    Posts:
    4,969
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2005
    Location:
    Omaha NE.
    When it is in limp mode can you get the car into reverse easy or has it gotten very hard to do? If it is hard then the IOD fuse for one of the 02 sensors may be blown, probably caused by the passenger rear 02 sensor wiring. Check that out and let me know, you can email me also and I will help if I can.
     
  9. q8_viper

    q8_viper Enthusiast

    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Location:
    Kuwait
    OK i fix the problem . DO NOT USE MSD 8.5mm Spark Plug Wires will not work with the Mopar Performance PCM
     

Share This Page