My turn for headgaskets.!...gen 1

jdeft1

Enthusiast
Reaction score
I've been searching the site and wondering if you guys have any more advise/tips/tricks. Any pitfalls to watch out for?? I got the "don't turn the motor without the heads" and "use a bit of RTV on the crossover bolt threads". Looks like the motor will need to be lifted a bit - at least on the drivers side. The job looks straight-forward but this is my first time taking a viper engine apart. I'm wondering what kinds of problems other people have encountered?

Thanks..

OP
OP
jdeft1

jdeft1

Enthusiast
Reaction score
I just ordered the headgaskets from JonB. The rest of the gaskets will be here Fri. - from my local dealer. I intend to do the job next weekend if I can get everything here by then.. I will be giving the Wizard a call - Thanks Chuck.

I do have a few queations: Anybody try to reuse the original valve cover gaskets?? Normally I'd swap 'em out too but a saw a few people post that they can be reused?!... at $90 ea. I thought I'd give reuse a try, heck, if they seep I'll replace 'em later.

R

RTED

Chuck is your source for all information on changing head gaskets. He talked me through mine, the tips and advice is priceless! Ask him about the coolant refill process to avoid air pockets....he has a neat trick.:2tu:

Dan Aseere

Viper Owner
Reaction score
Chuck walked me through it, sent me all that was needed and I really enjoyed the project Everything worked just like he said, no leaks no problems. It was nice to be able to detail the engine while it was apart. Call me if you want to ask questions about the project. 513 573 1400.

big-n-italian

Enthusiast
Reaction score
hey dan, always be careful about giving out personal information on the net. its up to you, but i always feel more comfortable pm'ing someone my telephone number.

LMK if you want it edited out.

OP
OP
jdeft1

jdeft1

Enthusiast
Reaction score