Question about Steering pulling

viperjim

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Although I've had many performance cars, I'm new to Vipers. I just purchased a 2003 with 10,000 miles and have been concerned with how much erratic pull I have to fight from the front wheels hitting irregularities in the road surface. The worst are the ruts left at intersections near the white stop lines. It's like a bad video game. I asked the Viper mechanic at the local Dodge dealer and he blamed it on wide tires ( they are stock. On a smooth highway, the car feels twitchy- I assuming because of the fast steer, but otherwise OK.
I was beating up on a Mustang Cobra yesterday and the car ****** because of a rut in the road at 80 mph. Enough to make the back end kick out and the ABS come into play. Any thoughts?

Jim

MikeR

Viper Owner
Reaction score
Im no expert, so there could be other problems in suspension,but my feeling is its the tires if they are still the stock run-flats. I have a new 05, it wanders all over the place on un-even surfaces. Its because of the tires. My buddy switched his wheels and tires out and his tracks nice and straight.

Racer Robbie

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Im no expert, so there could be other problems in suspension,but my feeling is its the tires if they are still the stock run-flats. I have a new 05, it wanders all over the place on un-even surfaces. Its because of the tires. My buddy switched his wheels and tires out and his tracks nice and straight.

same problem here and I changed the tires out to the stock OEM size in Michelin NON run flats. Then I redid the alignment as The Viper Wizard suggested

Nader

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Mine does the same even with non runflats - albeit less. it will only do it on a certain stretch of highway by me and I attribute it to the width of the tires and aggressive factory alignment for turnin.

Mike Dolan

Viper Owner
Reaction score