Track insurance

Whoaa GTS

Enthusiast
Reaction score
I've heard from a couple fellow members that they were able to be covered under their insurance policy while on the track as long as it was considered a high speed driving instruction course. Im considering going to a local track BIR in Brainerd Minnesota, but talked to my State Farm insurance agent and said if the car was on a track it wont be covered period. Any other alternatives as far as a special policy that i can take out for the day? I'm not willing to go on the track without any coverage.

Klayfish

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Your policy very, very likely excludes coverage for an event like that. It can get hairy (I know, I work in the auto insurance claims business) to define what is a "high speed driving instruction course", but for the most part the answer is a flat out no. You will not be covered, and there really is no insurance that will cover it. Just be careful.

Steve

Andrew/USPWR

Enthusiast
Reaction score
When I called in my claim, I did a “Bill Clinton”, and although I didn't lie, I worded it to sound like it was my first time at a track, and I was doing a defensive driving course, and part of the course is on the track itself. I never lied and I also kept a very melancholy demeanor with the agent on the phone, letting on how upset I was with myself, so the agent might be more apt to feel my pain. In the end I’m happy. They’ll always get my business, so their happy.

As far as wreaking you car at the track. Unless you’ve got the experience to drive the car at speeds that make a little mistake can become a big wreck. You have nothing to worry about. I think if a rookie wrecks his car, he wasn’t really too worried about wrecking it in the first place. Bottom line, drive at your own ability, and drive that at 80%.

2005 Silver SRT/10
2000 Steel Gray GTS (sold)

LETHAL GTS

Viper Owner
Reaction score
Hell you couldn't even drive at 50% of my ability?