10k miles and clutch is about done?????? what the heck

nemo

Viper Owner
Reaction score
so like it says my 08 gts blue viper has 10k miles on it and the clutch feels like its gone and its not a i think its the fluid its i can put it in 6th at 40 and put the lead down and it jumps rpms like an automatic. (had an 88 mr2 that the clutch was shot) same feeling???????? help please im a newb to this high hp stuff lol i don't smoke my clutch either ( well i drag it) but its not a clutch out if that makes since. if its a line issue thats fine if not where do i get annother? help thx in advance

PaViper

Enthusiast
Reaction score
First thing I would do is change the clutch fluid, if that doesn't help, then I would tend to agree with plumcrazy....

Chuck 98 RT/10

Enthusiast
Reaction score
If the clutch is bad at 10K and it was properly installed in the first place then it's your driving that needs to be fixed first, then replace the clutch. I don't have any experience with the new clutches but the GenII clutches will last well over 100,000 miles if driven properly.

toomanymodz

Viper Owner
Reaction score
I had a neighbor who would go through clutches about every 15k miles (mustang). Trust me, it was his driving. At every stop light he would take off quickly, slipping the clutch a bit for maximum acceleration.

I have a friend who sold his car (honda) with 260k miles on it, and it still had the original clutch. Was the clutch made of something magical? Nope, it was my friend's driving. He would grunt off the line with minimal slippage and would shift into each gear so smoothly you'd swear it was an automatic tranny.

Bobpantax

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Based on your "about me" data, it would appear to be your driving. No flame intended. We were all 19 once. You might want to have an older, more experienced driver ride with you to watch how you use the clutch. You may be able to use the car the way you want to with less stress on the clutch.

OP
OP
N

nemo

Viper Owner