2004 car: Bucking at low throttle positions???

Discussion in 'SRT10 and SRT10 Coupe Discussions' started by Marquis7676, Mar 6, 2018.

  1. Marquis7676

    Marquis7676 Viper Owner

    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2013
    I had put some Techron in the tank and soon had a misfire on cylinder 4. Changed out all of the plugs and everything was great!

    Now about 300 miles later the car was ‘bucking’ every time I up shifted and slowly rolled on the throttle. It was driving me nuts and I questioned whether or not I was causing it with my foot input on the throttle. Sure enough the next day cylinder 4 is misfiring again, changed it and no issues, for a day, but now she’s bucking again! I guess I’ll be putting a new spark plug in #4 soon.

    Any ideas about what is causing this?
     
  2. Steve-Indy

    Steve-Indy VCA Venom Member - Great Lakes

    Posts:
    7,981
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2000
    Location:
    Zionsville,IN. USA
    May be time to look at coils/wires.
     
    Marquis7676 likes this.
  3. MoparMap

    MoparMap VCA National President

    Posts:
    1,418
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Location:
    Kansas
    Since it seems to be isolated to a specific cylinder I would tend to agree with Steve. Sounds like the plug is getting fouled, so would guess the wire is either cracked and leaking voltage or the coil is going out. You could check all the other little sensors too like the TPS, intake temp, O2, etc. as those can make a car run kinda rough when they get weird, but the single cylinder thing would tend to make it seem like an ignition or injector issue. I suppose it's possible the injector could be leaking fuel and not closing causing that cylinder to run rich and foul the plug too.
     
    Marquis7676 likes this.
  4. Marquis7676

    Marquis7676 Viper Owner

    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2013

    The #4 wire was cracked, inside. I had a new set of wires installed and man what a difference!!! It’s easy to forget that original feel of the car over years of time, but it’s back. 14 year old plug wires are just not a good idea to run on.

    Thanks to both of you for the advice.
     
  5. MoparMap

    MoparMap VCA National President

    Posts:
    1,418
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Location:
    Kansas
    Glad you got it back running strong! When I put my headers on a few years back I ended up messing up some of my wires. They had enough miles and age on them that they just didn't like coming off. The silicone ends had basically fused to the plugs, so a new set was in order.
     
    Marquis7676 likes this.

Share This Page