soft top help!

Buzzzz

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Hi- I have to leave in a few hours and it's scheduled to rain. This soft top is giving me so much trouble. I've been trying for 30 minutes to assemble the thing. What is the trick? It feels like the 3 support rods are too long, but I know that's not the case cause this top was on the car when I got it. Obviously this is my first time trying to get this thing together. Any tips? Thanks.

Bad_Byte

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Relax...take a deep breath...

It's not that hard. The most critical is getting the pins in the slots on the side bars and the sliding keeper to slide.

Just do one side at a time and put the three cross members in their slot before you do the opposite side.

Look for a slot on the cross member that will slide over the post the keeper locks down on. Guide the slot to the post while keeping an eye on the round cross members, they try to pop out once in a while.

Good Luck

If all else fails....drink a beer....and think about the trip.
smile.gif

OP
OP
B

Buzzzz

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Ok, I'm hooking the 3 ends of the 3 suppoort rods into their slots, and I can get one side securely in place. I try to do the same on the other side, and the rods always stick out way too far. So if I secure the second side, the rods are all sloppy. Gotta take a break for a while- It's been an hour now and I just can't get this thing together. I think a nice hard top is what I need. This soft top is awful.

GATOR SERPENT

Enthusiast
Reaction score
You may be trying to stick the bars in the wrong slots. It is easy to put them in "what looks like the right slots". Make sure you put them in the black grooves farthest out. Then the other side. They look kind of like waffle cones.

V10 MOJO

Enthusiast
Reaction score