Close call, almost totaled my Viper..I'm still shaking

crazyspeed

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Well, I decided to get the recall done on my 97 GTS before it's too late. I've been dragging my feet about this for three years because I don't trust anyone in my area to do this lengthy recall.

I called the Viper Wizard and was informed he can still do the recall for Dodge....so I decided to take advantage of an unusual late season weather window and visit my sister in Weschester County. .. 800 mile round trip:drive:

Chuck was super and agreed to knock the job out in one day. Soooo it's late in the day when I am ready to leave Tator's Dodge and daylight is failing. Tires are cold and the brakes are cold and the roads are cold.

I was heading west and no more than a couple of miles from Tator's on Rt 35, a country two land road in beautiful hilly country, heading towards the Saw Mill Pky. There are no shoulders on this road ( or very narrow shoulders in parts) with steel guardrails along some areas.

I am unfamiliar with the area and momentarily take my eyes of the road to glance at the navigation map and when I look up into the fading twilight.. BAM a deer is jumping out in front of my Viper. I have nowhere to go.. WHAM I jump all over the brake pedal :crazy2: The Viper stops quickly in the center of the road with very slight twitching but no fishtail.

The tire squeal is still ringing in my ears as I watch the deer jump back into the woods and dissappear...no blood no foul..very close call for all of us ...me ,the Viper , and Bambi.

All I could think of was... the expense and trouble and time and planning to get the Viper all peached out ..was in a whisker of going all for naught.

And then it hit home....less than three weeks ago I had finally installed Tom's 40mm rear brake calipers after procrastinating for 9 months ( Tom...thanks for your patience and expert help) Tom can vouch for the fact that I was yanking his chain for a long time.