ECU Tuning Problem

Barrels

Viper Owner
Reaction score
I have an 03 with bolt-ons that I am having tuned. I did a cat delete, 160-degree thermostat, throttle body, etc., so I really need to get a tune to smooth things out and take advantage of the mods.

The shop doing the work is an SCT dealer and has been on the phone with them trying to get the codes they need. They think that the problem is that I have a MOPAR computer instead of the stock unit. SCT is telling them that the MOPAR unit can't be tuned.

Does this sound right to you guys? If so, does anyone want to trade a stock ECU for a MOPAR unit?

OP
OP
B

Barrels

Viper Owner
Reaction score
Call Dan Cragin at DC Performance. (310) 841-6996

Good advice. Dan wasn't sure whether or not the MOPAR ECU could be re-programmed but recommended that I tune a stock unit either way. I need to find out if I do actually have a non-stock unit and he said he just needs the part number in order to know for sure. So I have attached a picture of my ECU so one of you helpful viper experts can tell me what number to give him. I am curious to know if the radiator hose rubbed off the number I need.

You must be registered for see images

OP
OP
B

Barrels

Viper Owner
Reaction score
Ok. I don't think I have a Mopar ECU. I found a picture of one online and it has a large and colorful sticker that labels it as such.

I think the problem is that the middle number is the part number and the radiator hose has rubbed it off. The Dodge dealer said the part # should be 4865501AF. Can someone look at their Gen III (models built prior to 11/2002 have a different part #) and let me know if the the middle number is that part number? Also, does the above picture match your ECU?

Sonoman

Enthusiast
Reaction score