Effect of differential on acceleration from a stop or from a rolling start.

vincy

Enthusiast
Reaction score
I'm confused about the effect of the rear gear ratio. Below are two links on the feeling of low torque on the 08s.

It seems to me a higher(numerically) gear ratio has to increase the pushing power to the road. So in the absence of any wheelspin a higher ratio should accelerate faster. Drag racers use high ratio gears.

What if you are already moving. Then a numerically lower transmission gear can compensate for the rear end ratio, so the pushing power is about the same.

In the posts below there are comments that a higher gear ratio is faster, and other comeents that it makes no difference.

I'm a scientist and hopefully not too stupid, but this continues to confuse me. Thanks.

http://forums.viperclub.org/srt10-srt10-coupe-discussions/618651-sold-my-c6z06-got-08-coupe.html

http://forums.viperclub.org/srt10-srt10-coupe-discussions/614554-torque-2008-intake-manifold.html

DEADEYE

Viper Owner
Reaction score
I'm no expert but I think speed is a measurement of the amount of time it takes to cover a given distance. When you gear a car higher for harder acceleration you also make it shorter and loose the distance part of the equation. In the long run all you gain is a stronger feeling pull but that's about it because it won't pull hard for very long. Things change if you're trying to maximize acceleration for a predetermined distance like the 1/4 mile drag strip. If you want to trap at the top of 4th gear rather than the middle of 4th gear then you can make the higher gear work in your favor. I think it's only a benefit when you have a predetermined finish line.

lankhoss

Enthusiast
Reaction score
DEADEYE made a very good post. However, I'm unclear if you are asking for quarter mile runs, or just asking in general.