Fuse Mystery

Photo pro

Enthusiast
Reaction score
I have a 96 RT10. About 3 years ago, the fan motor stopped working. I could feel cold air and warm air when the car was moving. I took it to the local dealership in Ringgold and they told me that they replaced the fuse. The tech told me that if I had any more problems, it was probably the fan motor. It worked for a few months then stopped working again.

Last year, I removed the fan motor. I finally found one from a salvage (Dodge has discontinued making them). I replaced the fan motor about 2 weeks ago and it still didn't work. So I ordered a resistor last week from the dealer and replaced that, still didn't work. The fuse #7 says "Blower motor 25 amp". Checked that and it was fine.

The Mystery: I pulled every fuse one at a time thinking that they might be mislabeled. When I got to #9 Airbag Controller, it was blown. It was also a 30 amp fuse. The manual says it should be a 10 amp fuse. I am no electrician but a friend told me that a 30 amp fuse had to be a mistake. He said that if I continued to use it, I would probably burn the fan motor up again. Besides, why would an airbag controller operate the AC Blower motor????

I went to the Ringgold dealer yesterday. My manual doesn't match up anything they have. In fact, they told me that most of my fuses had the wrong amperage fuse in them.
Notice that the manual shows that#4 is a 7.5 amp radio but it has a 10 amp fuse. It says that #5 is a 10 amp air bag controller and the fuse block has a 4 amp fuse in it. The dealer also said that #13 should be the radio fuse and mine is empty.

The dealer told me that my fuse block was on the drivers side in the engine compartment. It was on the passenger side above the left knee.

Either I have the worlds worst mislabeled fuse block or I have Viper kit car that someone threw together from a volkswagon.