Polishing with Pledge

BlknBlu

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Viper Nation,

What are your experiences with using Pledge as a Car detailer? Also on the use of glass, plastic and metal or chrome. I applied it to my daily driver today and my powdercoated 6 spoke wheels and it looks fantastic and does not seem to streak. I searched on the NET and found no harmful exposure to using it.

Let me know your thoughts.

Bruce

bluesrt

Enthusiast
Reaction score
i have been useing it for about 15 years, and also on my clearbra instead of the plexas highdollar stuff.. i do the whole car with it

MarcRoth

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Been using for years on dumptrucks and the dirt doesnt stick as bad as not using it. Been a secret for years.:2tu:

Junkman2008

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Pledge is made for finished furniture and wood. Some finished furniture is painted with lacquer so Pledge is made to be used on lacquer paint. At one point in time, cars used to be painted in lacquer so that is why the old school guys would use it.

Would I ever use it? No way, because I don't have a clue what the MSD sheet for Pledge looks like. I also don't know if it will cause a nasty build up or be bad for my clear coat. I guess I'm more in the "stay on the safe side" group. Some guys use it because it is much cheaper than 303 or Adam's In & Out Spray (2 products that work much better and are safe for your car - not made for paint though). I know we don't have any guys here too cheap to spend some money on their Viper though... :confused:

Last edited:
OP
OP
B

BlknBlu

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Pledge now advertises the use of thier product on paint finishes and plastics and glass. I would have to disagree on the Lacquer finishes. None of the Furniture in my house has a lacquer finish but I use Old English Lemon oil anyway (another story). I am not trying to defend the use of Pledge just looking for proof that it harms a finish.

I am a Griots user.

Bruce

PDCjonny

Enthusiast
Reaction score