Gen 1 - Battery Breaking , Spring routine

fed007

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Hi All, I have been loving my 1995 Viper/RT for a few years now and this year I am about to buy yet another new battery.... please help me stop the cycle :crazy2:

I am located in Edmonton,Alberta,Canada and it gets cold here for the winter so keeping the battery topped up seems to be a challenge with my luck and schedule.

Year 1 (bought the car) - had an old weak battery... so replacement was due. - Buy a new battery.
Year 2 - Spring time rolled around , I was lazy topping up the battery charge. Died hard over the winter wouldn't hold charge. - Buy a new Battery
Year 3 - Spring time rolled around, this time I had bought a "smart" charger, hooked it up a few times over the winter. (come back to the garage and encrusted on the floor is a pool of acid residue. ) Seems to have been a result of a bad charger or cracked battery?) This was exacerbated with charging I believe. Clean up the mess . Buy a new battery.
Year 4 - This Spring rolls around. No winter charging. and AGAIN another pool of residue under the battery compartment on the concrete floor but I never had a charger on it....?

So I am now leaning towards the battery cracking, what is odd is that the floor of my garage was spotless all last summer so this seemed to leak over the winter. The last time this occurred I thought the charge might have blown / overheated the battery. But this time the charging was not in the equation so maybe the stock mounts are too rough for the battery type I bought?

Another theory is that over the winter the chemical reaction has continue on the concrete creating more crystals... I am nervous about charging a possibly cracked battery.

Looks like the tire is coming off to check no matter what.

N

Last edited:

99 R/T 10

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Get the MAXX battery from walmart. Good battery, 3 year free replacement. It's all I buy now, only replaced one out of a half dozen.

daveg

Enthusiast