Undamaged Serpentine Belt Came Off: Possible Fixes?

Discussion in 'RT/10 and GTS Discussions' started by BlackVenom, Jan 17, 2018.

  1. BlackVenom

    BlackVenom Viper Owner

    Posts:
    111
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2001
    Location:
    Texas
    I drove my 2000 GTS last weekend for the first time since I moved into my new house several months ago. When I was returning from a 30 minute drive, I noticed the power steering was really stiff like the last time I lost the belt. Upon further inspection in my garage, the belt was completely off and laying in the engine compartment as if it had simply popped off while driving. I had the belt replaced two years ago and since I rarely drive the car, it still looks brand new. (No marks, no splits, no damage on the edges) The work was done at the dealership, so it is an OEM belt with Mopar makings.

    Is it possible my tensioner pulley spring has failed? If so, can I just replace the tensioner or do I need to also replace the pulley and the belt?

    Here is the tensioner listed on AutoZone: (does it include the pulley?)
    https://www.autozone.com/external-engine/belt-tensioner/continental-belt-tensioner/821018_687418_0

    I will still take it into Tomball Dodge for an inspection, but I want to avoid paying for the tow to the dealer, like the last time the belt shredded.

    Thanks,

    BlackVenom
     
  2. nmp1

    nmp1 Enthusiast

    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2017
    did the crank bolt come loose?
     
  3. Bonkers

    Bonkers VCA Venom Member - Northeast

    Posts:
    5,057
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2002
    Location:
    DelaWhere? USA
    Check the power steering pump pulley - its a known
    weak point and its possible its broken (or spun off)
    the shaft.
     
  4. BlackVenom

    BlackVenom Viper Owner

    Posts:
    111
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2001
    Location:
    Texas
    Thanks for the suggestions. :cool:

    It is supposed to warm up to 70+ degrees this weekend in the Houston area, so I will review the rest of the belts path to see if anything is missing or loose.

    BlackVenom
     
  5. BlackVenom

    BlackVenom Viper Owner

    Posts:
    111
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2001
    Location:
    Texas
    I looked at the power steering pump pulley and it wobbles when you spin it. The pulley is cracked in several places, but it is still on the shaft. Can I just replace the pulley or do I need a new power steering pump, as well?

    Here are a couple of photos I took of the pulley:
     
  6. ViperJeff

    ViperJeff VCA Legacy Member - UT/AZ Staff Member

    Posts:
    3,805
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Location:
    Idaho
    damn!!!!
     
  7. Steve-Indy

    Steve-Indy VCA Venom Member - Great Lakes

    Posts:
    7,967
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2000
    Location:
    Zionsville,IN. USA
    Very common issue !! You NEED to replace both the pulley and the bracket with the billet aluminum kit from IPSCO....available for about $200.00 from JonB at Parts Rack. I have replaced these fragile OEM items on all of our Gen II Vipers as well as our 96 R/T 10 which has the same setup. In our case, "I" means Tom Sessions was kind enough to do this for me.

    Because of the high failure rate noted (including the fragile OEM Gen I bracket), I keep 2 of the IPSCO kits in my garage for fellow Members in need. If these components fail on the road, it's flatbed time as there is no work around.
     
    Titan1969 likes this.
  8. Gen3CoupeTX

    Gen3CoupeTX Enthusiast

    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2017
    Location:
    Sienna Plantation, TX
    Ouch! Thanks for sharing. I no longer have a Gen 2, but never say never. Now I will have to put the paranoid eye on this area of my Gen 3 ... Unless they OEM improved this area.
     
  9. MoparMap

    MoparMap VCA National President

    Posts:
    1,401
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Location:
    Kansas
    The gen 3 setup has been pretty solid for me. I've replaced my pump several times trying to track down a problem that turned out to be a bad valve in the hydraulic cooling module and the pulley has been solid. It claims you're not supposed to reuse it, but I've reused my stock one on something like the 4th pump I've put in it with no problems.
     
  10. mazcona

    mazcona Enthusiast

    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2017
    I have a 2000 GTS and found the exact same problem. The class 10 bolt came loose from the end of the crank shaft which ensures the harmonic balancer is tight against a tapered shoulder. Your pulley assembly and harmonic balancer depend on this bolt to ensure rigidity. The crankshaft metal was machined off by the harmonic balancer which requires you to pull the engine remove the crankshaft and either replace or rebuild, balance and reinstall. My cost was 10k. Thanks
     
  11. Bruce

    Bruce Enthusiast

    Age:
    64
    Posts:
    274
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2000
    Location:
    Charleston, WV
    Wow mazcona 10K ouch! I kept losing my belt on 2000 GTS too. Crank bolt was loose and dealership tighten. No further problem.
     
  12. BlackVenom

    BlackVenom Viper Owner

    Posts:
    111
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2001
    Location:
    Texas
    Wow! I hope I do not have that problem, as well... :aargh:

    Still waiting to take mine in.
     

Share This Page